We are just over the midpoint after completion of 9 of the15 matches. The news is that South Africa and India (ICC ODI ranks 1&2) are out of it. South Africa are beaten by the toss and a rejuvenated England and India by the rain gods (and it's own bowlers). Technically India is still in with a remote chance -- if Pakistan thrash Aussies by a big margin ,and , if India beats West indies too by another big margin. Big 'ifs" indeed.
South Africa fought gamely chasing a 325 and fell short by 20 odd runs. They were unlucky to loose the toss (and the match). But they have only themselves to blame having lost their opener against the lankans. As you have realized by now in this format, if you loose your first match, it is very difficult to come back. Pakistan had an easy opponent in windies in thir opener and won it and so did aussies against the same windies. Both are through to semis. India on the other hand faced the tough pakistan in their opening match, lost the toss and lost the match too.
But, if you look at it objectively, india did not deserve to win after their poor bowling against the pakis. Except for Ashish Nehra all others bowled all over the place. Bhajji gave 71 runs in his 10 overs for a lone wicket in his last over. Comparison of his pitch map with that of ajmal (his pakistani counterpart) was quite revealing and showed his lack of control. Looks like he needs a break. Ishant Sharma has lost both his line and length and is an easy meat now. RP Singh was erratic too, mor often than not. With such poor bowling backed by equally poor fielding you can't expect to win matches.
The batsman put up a much better show. Gambhir was in sublime touch and but for his suicidal runout could have taken india much closer to the target. Raina too played well and was unlucky to be given lbw, i thought. Dravid put up a good show within his limitations ( a poor strike rate and inability to rotate strike). But Sachin failed at the top to provide a good start and fell to Aamer who said earler that he would try to get Sachin (and kept his word). Dhoni too failed with the bat playing akwardly to get out lbw.
All in all India were beaten truly and squarely by Pakistan. If the pakis maintain the same hunger and spirit, we will see them in the finals for sure and from there it is just one match away from the championship.
So, which is more bitter -- india's failure to make it to semis or Pakistan making it to finals (and may be, even winning)-- take your pick.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment